BOOKS

JOURNAL

GALLERY

ABOUT

CONTACT


View Cart

QUOTES BOOK TALK

Front Cover | Back Cover

Author Biography

Endorsements

Articles & Reviews

The Morning Light, The Lily White: Daily Dips into Nature and Spirit

by Katherine Hauswirth

Print (softcover) $24.95  

ORDER NOW FOR SHIPMENT
IN MID-JANUARY

An ebook edition of this title is available from Amazon Kindle and Apple iBooks.
To pay by check please use this order form.
We are pleased to take orders from retailers. Email us with details about your order or call us at 207-837-5760.

In The Morning Light, The Lily White, naturalist Katherine Hauswirth presents a collection of very short essays—one for each day of the year—offering knowledge, insight, and introspection. Hauswirth examines countless components of our natural world, answering such questions as: What’s going on beneath still winter pond waters? Do birds ever sleep in? Do bees really use their tongues as crowbars? and Do flying squirrels actually fly? You will approach nature differently after reading this book, following in Hauswirth’s footsteps as she learns from nature by being one with nature.

NATURE / General

ISBN: 978-1-956056-64-8 (print; softcover; perfect bound)
ISBN: 978-1-956056-65-5 (ebook)

LCCN: 2022951393

Released January 17, 2023  |  Copyright 2023

296 pages; 4 black & white illustrations

Author Biography

Katherine Hauswirth writes about nature, often with a spiritual bent. Her work has been published in Whole Life Times, Spirituality & Health, the Christian Science Monitor, Still Point Arts Quarterly, Connecticut Woodlands, Pilgrimage, The Wayfarer, and Re-Imagining. She has been a writer in residence at Trail Wood in Connecticut, Acadia National Park in Maine, and with the Orchard Keeper Writers Residency in Tennessee. Her essay collection, The Book of Noticing: Collections and Connections on the Trail (Homebound Publications, 2017), won honorable mention for general nonfiction in ASJA’s 2018 contest; a piece from the book won a first prize in the Soul-Making Keats Literary Competition.



Endorsements

“The healing grace of nature leaps off the page as we follow Katherine Hauswirth on her daily sojourns. With gratitude and simplicity, The Morning Light, The Lily White reminds us of the world right outside our window. Like the blue sky cleansed by summer rain, we see the world with fresh eyes.”
Mark Daniel Seiler, author of River’s Child


“In the tradition of Edwin Way Teale, Katherine Hauswirth offers up her daily observations through the year on walks in Connecticut and beyond with interesting facts, provocative questions, innumerable resources, and common-sense steps we all can take to appreciate and better care for our planet. Whether a budding or an experienced naturalist, this book belongs on the bedside table as an inspiring way to start and/or end one’s day.”
Sarah Heminway, director, northeast region of the Connecticut Audubon Society


“Katherine Hauswirth’s wise new tribute to ‘our swirling sphere’ has magically done it again. Her experiences twinkle and sparkle on each page, simultaneously frolicsome and deep. I especially gravitated to the daily dips of spring, my favorite season. If you don’t know how a peeper chorus starts, what a gall is, and why wahoo is named so appropriately, you need this book and will rejoice to find out.”
Carol Holst, Postconsumers


“Katherine Hauswirth brings a gift of knowledge to the page. Her writer’s voice is neither self-effacing nor adorned but simply true, her grasp of the how and where and why of animals in the wild encyclopedic. The Morning Light, The Lily White is a pleasure to read. There will be a copy on my nightstand and at least one more set aside as a gift to a friend.” 
Mark Seth Lender, explorer in residence at Public Radio’s Living on Earth


“I’m lucky to live in the same town as Katherine Hauswirth and have sometimes bumped into her peering thoughtfully at lichen or a tree branch. Her daily musings in this thoughtful almanac will pull you into her world, a place where humans can contemplate lying down with the beasts and working toward a better future for our planet.”
Christine Woodside, environmental writer and editor-in-chief of Appalachia


“Through the daily entries in The Morning Light, The Lily White, Katherine Hauswirth leads us into the natural world with a searcher’s heart and a pathfinder’s knowledge. These passages guide us through the seasons and the year. They are invitations for how to examine that world more deeply as much as they are lessons for how to be both corporeal and spiritual beings within it. Each reading is a flash of inspiration. She encourages us to see more than we look, and to ask more than we know.”
Denton Loving, author of Crimes Against Birds

Articles and Reviews

 

Shanti Arts LLC. Copyright © 2011-2023. All rights reserved. Content may not be reproduced in any form.
info@shantiarts.com  |  193 Hillside Road  Brunswick  Maine  04011  |  207-837-5760